Hatstands and Mini-skirts

I haven’t posted on this blog since the 6th of June. Lot’s of stuff has happened since then. My mother-in-law came to stay with us for three weeks. We went to Spain. And, of course, there were the Olympics. I’ll cover all these in future posts.

I have also been preparing a new cover for my novel, Trinity. The new cover went live on Amazon today, albeit in postage stamp size, so here it is in all it’s, err, glory.

Please feel free to let me know what you think in the comments.

About Patrick Fox

I am an author and Graphic Artist. I'm also a keen amateur detective, and can often be found searching for clues in pubs and bars.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Brilliant cover, Patrick, a million times better as it depicts the novel in one glance, the other one puzzled me and if I hadn’t known you I would never have looked twice and would have missed a fantastic book. Sorry been missing off the scene I have moved to Spain for a six month holiday and had such a lot to do as we gave up our apartment in England. We are trying out the water to see if we could live here if so will look for a perm home. Everything in my book world is great, my three covers compliment each other now, even though done by three different artists. This came about because I tried so hard to do a cover of my own then you popped up with your wonderful offer and did me one I really love – then a student friend needed credits and offered to do the second one, and then a much loved niece wanted to do the third!!! It has taken a while to get them looking similar. Anyway, for my fourth I will get in touch with you as I owe you a massive debt and now I have seen this cover I am so keen to have you work on my next cover. Hope you will, much love xxx

    • Hello Mary πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you like the new cover. It’s a bit early to tell if it’s having any effect yet. There have been no sales since I changed it, but I’m hoping.

      Hope you are having a great time in Spain. We couldn’t get to the villa in San Miguel this summer because the mother-in-law had rented it out, but we are hoping to go at Christmas. I believe you are staying around Murcia, so maybe we could meet up if you are still there.

      Just let me know when you are ready for a new cover, I’d love to work on it for you.

  2. That’s great, cover wise and meeting up – let me know nearer the time xxx

  3. Personally, I prefer the original cover. BUT, I know why you changed it, and I think you are right, this cover fits your target audience perfectly. And it is good, I just liked the other one.
    I hope you are well, Patrick. Glad to hear you survived three weeks with your mother-in-law! (I’m sure she’s lovely, Just trying to imagine how I would survive three weeks with my mother-in-law, or my mother for that matter!)

    • Hi, Ken, I can’t agree with you, the first cover didn’t say anything about the book – it didn’t say ‘comedy’ it didn’t say ‘romance’ it didn’t say ‘man lit’ – okay the last isn’t a recognised genre, but Patrick has invented it by writing a perfect specimen of what could be described as that! I have Patrick’s paperback, which I loved, but I puzzled over his choice of cover – I thought ‘western’ more than any genre and though we had a cowboy in it, it wasn’t that by any stretch of the imagination. Now the cover says what’s in the tin. It’ says – romance with a comic twist with the three hats and the girl’s legs – My advice to Patrick- okay I know you wrote a blog against graphic sex in books, Patrick, but I would heat up those scenes, put the book in the romance category, and in romantic comedy and bloody well go for it – kick shades of grey up the arse… You could do it – write under a different name if you have to. Oh, dear, woke up standing on my soap box, sorry, much love to you both xxx xxx

    • Thanks Ken. I liked the original cover too, but it really didn’t fit the book. Hopefully, the new one will serve it better.

      My mother-in-law helped me to un tap levels of patience I never knew I had.

  4. Hello Mary, the old cover was supposed to depict the barn door where the climax of the book takes place, but I do agree, it looks like a western.

    Great minds think alike, I am going to be changing its categories today. However, I don’t think I’l be going down the 50 Shades of Grey route. I wouldn’t know where to start. I’m far too innocent. πŸ™‚

  5. oh yeah… more like the pirate…ha…ha

  6. I never realised that about the barn door. I thought it was the door to the hidden part of his mind that invented Trinity. And I thought it was an intriguing cover. Anyway, all IMHO of course. πŸ™‚

  7. I love the new cover. The previous one was colourful and rather intriguing, as Trinity himself is, but I see now that didn’t really do justice to the story and the rest of the characters. I think the hatstand is sheer genius and, of course, car manufacturers have been using the legs 11 thing for years and I can see the attraction. And, of course, they could belong to any of the women in the story. I also think the slogan at the bottom is brilliant. Is this all your own design, Patrick? If so, well done on a great job. πŸ™‚

    • Hello Allie, thanks very much for those kind words. Yes the cover is my own design. I had the hatstand and hats, and the placing of the title and my name for ages, I just couldn’t think of what to put in the bottom left. Then it struck me, Ben is always staring at Bonnie’s legs, so I searched through the stock photo sites until I found the right image. The strap line at the bottom took a while to work out too, I knew I wanted the three, two, one countdown, but it was deciding the subjects that took the time.

      Unfortunately, so far the new cover hasn’t had any effect on the lack of sales. 😦

      I hope you are well, and you’re selling loads of copies of The Fairytale Quest.

Leave a comment