We Will Ask The Questions, Mr Fox . . .

I was recently interviewed for AuthorsAnon (link in side bar) by the awesome B LLoyd. It was my first interview as an author, but not the first time I’ve ever been interviewed. Over the years, as a games industry professional, I’ve given interviews to such august publications as The Independent, The Coventry Evening Telegraph, and various computer related magazines.

The first time I was interviewed was in 1992. My then partner (that’s business partner) Scott Williams and I had created a video game called Krusty’s Super Fun House, and it was starting to gain attention. A fairly new magazine at the time, N-Force, ran a feature on the game and said nice things about it, so I decided to phone their offices and thank them. They were pretty enthusiastic and asked if they could interview us, so I said yes, after checking with Scott.

On the day of the interview, two journalists arrived at my house. One was from N-Force, and one was from its sister magazine Sega Force. The interview went smoothly. Sensible questions about game development, level design, programming, graphics and animation etc., were asked and answered, photos were taken, and the two journalists went back to Ludlow to write, what we thought were going to be insightful articles about game development for the edification of their readers.

Here is a taste of what the resulting articles were like:

Scott is the sensible chap on the right. I’m the long-haired one on the left, wearing a black leather jacket and cowboy boots. I’ve always been a fashion icon.

“Pat disembowels Scott and feeds his steaming entrails to a passing lion. ‘Listen to other people’s views and be prepared to take criticism!’

Scott disintegrates Pat’s head with a thermonuclear device and shouts to me, ‘And remember, the rewards for coming up with a great game can include interviews with such prestigious magazines as SEGA FORCE!’

What a creep! I leave their dungeon lair with the sounds of the tormented still in my ears and the blood of hapless Nintendo owners on my boots . . .”

Any hopes we had of becoming the go-to-guys for comments on the games industry pretty much died with those two articles. And my dream of Michael Parkinson seeing one of the interviews and immediately booking us for his chat show, died on the day the magazines popped through my letterbox.

The pictures littered around this post were taken from the two magazine articles, and there’s one thing that bothers me about them — I can’t ever remember having a blonde moustache!

Here I am in 1992 aged 36, complete with a mysteriously blonde moustache. Scott was about 10 or 12 at the time. It looks like Aviator shades were the must have fashion accessory of the day.

About Patrick Fox

I am an author and Graphic Artist. I'm also a keen amateur detective, and can often be found searching for clues in pubs and bars.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Looks to me like you were still stuck in the 80s there, Mr Fox! But then I guess it was only just the 90s when the photo was taken. And I do have a few photographs hidden away at home of my own sartorial faux pax.
    Shame about the interview. From the excerpts you posted it barely makes sense!

    • The whole interview in both magazines were like the small excerpt I included. One good thing came from it though, Scott and I were invited to that year’s Europress Christmas party.

  2. Mairi Edwards

    You’d do anything for a party wouldn’t you Foxy? Tash looks ginger too me. The hair looks like mine did, though my tangled curls reached my butt. The powers of media. *sighs*

  3. Too bad about that first interview, but the one at authors anon is great! I enjoyed reading about how you got started and how Trinity came to be. BTW…you have some interesting pub names in the UK. 🙂

  4. Glad you liked the AuthorsAnon interview, Rhonda. 🙂

    As for pub names, I have, over the years, drank in establishments called The Bug and Black Bat, The Leg and Cramp, The Pig and Pickle, The Glan Cynon Inn, as well as the more usual slop houses like The Red Lion, The Golden Crown, The Bull’s Head etc.

    If you ever make it over here, I’ll take you on a pub crawl.

  5. So, I see the pantylines tag…told you it would work miracles for your stats! heh heh…
    I really dig that picture, btw. You look like a seventies pimp-daddy. And it is a shame they totally effed up your interview. I think the interviewers were smoking some pretty harsh weed, dude. Hilarious but not helpful for your career or their readers.

  6. Just read the anon interview and it was great! Glad to see they got it right and are taking their job seriously, unlike the previous bozos from the games mags. 🙂

    • Yep, your tag is a stroke of genius! I think I’m doing well if my blog gets 10 hits in a day. Yesterday it got 74 hits, and so far today it’s had 24. If you have anymore tags like that one, please let me know.

      As for looking like a 70s pimp-daddy, I couldn’t help it, it took a long time for me to leave the 70s behind. I dressed in tee shirt, jeans, cowboy boots and biker jacket until my late 40s, I still had long hair too until I shaved it off when I was 50.

      Glad you like the AuthorsAnon interview, it’s like I’m a proper author or something 😀

      • Hell yeah, you are! You are fabulous! And I still run around in white tees, jeans but wear flip-flops so the look will never die. A classic you can always get on with!
        They reblogged my post on your book, too. How nice of them! That’s a great blogspot..

Leave a Reply

