Welcome World

You can tell from the title of this post, I’ve got pretty lofty ambitions for this blog . . . Yeah right, like the world’s gonna be interested. But there’s nothing wrong with thinking big.

Anyway, among other stuff, I’m going to chart my progress here as I enter the world of indie publishing with my novel, Trinity. It’s been a long journey. First draft of the novel took eight months to complete. Many more subsequent drafts and revisions have been done over the years I’ve been submitting the novel to agents and publishers. It even got accepted for publication by a small publishing house that promptly went out of business before printing one copy. So, it was back onto the submissions treadmill, where I would wait for months at a time to hear back from an agent or publisher.

The last publisher who requested the full manuscript, kept me waiting for ten months before rejecting it. That was when I decided I would publish it myself. And that, dear world, is what I am going to do.

About Patrick Fox

I am an author and Graphic Artist. I'm also a keen amateur detective, and can often be found searching for clues in pubs and bars.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I will watch eagerly for your progress in the self publishing world Patrick. It’s an unknown area for me. Good luck on your journey.

    Ma

  2. I’ve been looking forward to this blog for sometime! Can’t wait to read your commentary on life and your process w/Trinity!!!!
    Welcome to the world of blogging

  3. Hiya baby, edit you writing bit at the top as there is a random what in it xx

  4. Good man! I await news of your well-deserved success with interest. Okay, may be jumping the gun here. I’ve been there: the endless waiting to hear from agents/publishers and the angst it entails is still a bitter memory. If it helps, I sold 75,000 books in 2011 after deciding I could manage perfectly well without an established publisher. Best of luck to you and at least you’ll never have to wonder ‘what’ if.’

    • Hello Jake, I am very much aware of your success last year. I followed your thread about it on Authonomy. You have been an inspiration to me, and you’ve helped shape my decision to self-publish rather than playing the interminable waiting game.

      You also gave me a lot of encouragement when you commented on Trinity during it’s early days on the site.

Leave a Reply

